Blog single photo

At Law School

Evans Among Five To Be Inducted Into Hall

NORMAN-A retired U.S. Army colonel, who went on to become dean of students at the law school of the University of Oklahoma, is among five who will be inducted next month into the Order of the Owl hall of Fame.

Ceremonies will be held on Wednesday, Feb. 6.

The event honors graduates of the university’s law school, who demonstrate leadership and service in their legal careers.

To be honored are:

• Col. (ret.) Stanley L. Evans, who has worked to increase diversity in the Oklahoma legal community, and has championed human rights and veterans programs;

• John D. Groendyke, trucking executive and steward of wildlife conservation;

• Robert H. Henry, whose career has spanned three fields: government, law and higher education;

• Susan L. Lees, business executive and advocate for the advancement of women in the law; and

• Susana Martinez, the first female governor of New Mexico and the first Hispanic female elected governor in the history of the United States.

Since its establishment in 2011, the Order of the Owl has inducted and honored 23 alumni of the law school.

“Through their careers and through their demonstrated character, this year’s honorees have shown they are leaders not only in the law but in their steadfast commitment to serving others and bettering their communities, their states and our nation,” said Dean Joseph Harroz Jr.

“This year’s recipients are exceptional representations, and we are honored to consider them among our most distinguished alumni.”

Col. Evans is a 2003 graduate of the law school. ..To read more, subscribe to the blackchronicle newspaper