single post

Perry Named To National

Sports Advisory Board

Aaron, Gruden, Others Set to Serve as Well

ATLANTA—Russell M. Perry, chairman of Perry Publishing & Broadcasting, has been named to the advisory board of directors of the national Black College Football Hall of Fame. The newspaper publisher and broadcasting company owner joins a prestigious group of sports figures, business executives and others on the advisory board.

For example, Hank Aaron, the baseball great and an Atlanta businessman, is one of the members of the board.

Tommy Dortch, president emeritus of 100 Black Men of America, will also serve on the board, as will Jon Gruden, the former professional football coach and currently, an ESPN NFL analyst.

Ray Anderson, vice president of athletics at Arizona State University, will serve on the board, too, as will Thomas Bishop, senior vice president and general counsel of Georgia Power.

In addition, Carolyn Baldwin Byrd, chairman of Global Tech Financial Services, is an advisory board member, along with Ron Davenport Sr., chairman and founder of the Sheridan Broadcasting Corp.

The board includes Rod Doss, publisher of The New Pittsburgh Courier, and Tony Dungy, the retired National Football League coach and a NBC sports football analyst.

Oscar Harris, founder of Turner Associates of Atlanta, is a member of the board, and so is Joe Horrigan, vice president of communications of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Cathy Hughes, founder and chairman of Radio One; John Jacob, former president of the National Urban League; and Dr. Jimmy Jenkins, president of Livingstone College of Salisbury, N.C., will all serve on the board.

Dr. Robert Jennings, president of Lincoln University, is a member of the board, and so is Tom Joyner, of the nationally-syndicated radio talk-show.

Kent Matlock, chairman of Matlock Advertising & Public Relations of Atlanta, is a member of the board, along with Irving Matthews, president of Matthews Advertising Group of Daytona Beach, Fla.

Robert McCarthy, former chief operating officer of the Marriott Corp.; Penelope McPhee, president of the Arthur Blank Foundation of Atlanta; and Daniel Meacham, founder of Meacham & Associates, a law firm of Atlanta, are additional board members.

Joining the board, too, are Thomas Moorehead, chairman of the National Association of Minority Auto Dealerships, and John Priore, president of Priority Payment Systems of Atlanta.

Other members of the advisory board are Herman Russell, founder of H.J. Russell & Co. of Atlanta, and Dr. Jane Smith, executive director of the Center for Leadership and Civic Engagement of Spelman College.

John Stallworth, co-owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, is a member of the board, and so is John Stephenson, president of the College Football Hall of Fame.

The advisory board includes Dr. Stacey Davis Stewart, president of United Way of USA.

Dr. Thelma B. Thompson, president emeritus of the Univedrsity of Maryland of Eastern Shore, and Troy Vincent, executive vice president of football operations of the National Football League are members of the advisory board.