Former Congressmen Inducted

Former Congressmen Inducted

Watts, Largent, Everest and Several Others Honored

Two former congressmen were among those inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame. Former U.S. Rep. J.C.Watts Jr. (Rep., Okla.), of Eufaula, was inducted into the hall during Nov. 21 formal ceremonies held at the Cox Convention Center. They joined 698 individuals inducted in the 92 years of the hall’s existence. The hall was founded in 1927. Induction into the hall is the state’s highest honor. These are those inducted and the persons presenting them:

• J.C. Watts Jr., the former congressman and a businessman, who was a star football player at the University of Oklahoma, was presented by retired University of Oklahoma Head Coach Barry Switzer;

• James C. Day, ofPond Creek was, presented by Mike Cawley;

• Tricia Everest, of Oklahoma City, who was presented by Christy Everest;

• Gray Frederickson, of Oklahoma City, who was presented by Francis FordCoppola;

• John Herrington, of Wetumka, who was presented by Bill Moore;

• Former U.S. Rep. Steve Largent (Dem., Okla.), of Tulsa, who was presented by Jim Zorn;

• John T. Nickel, Muskogee, presented by Dave Whitlock; and

• The late Chief the Choctaw Nation Allen Wright, whose award was accepted by Allen Wright Jr.

To read more, subscribe to the blackchronicle newspaper.

Follow by Email