Election legislation roundup: New York State Legislature



As of July 23, members of the New York State Legislature, which includes the New York State Assembly and the New York State Senate, have passed 10 bills related to election administration since the beginning of the year.

Of the 10 bills passed this year, six have been enacted, with one being enacted during the week of July 17-23. This is six fewer than this point a year ago. Democrats sponsored five bills, while a bipartisan group of legislators sponsored one. Five of the six bills are:

NY A5175: Changes certain General Election deadlines, Assembly Members Angela McKnight (D), William Moen (D), Verlina Reynolds-Jackson (D), and Anthony Verrelli (D), and Sens. Jim Beach (D), Nellie Pou (D), Shirley Turner (D), and Andrew Zwicker (D).As amended, this bill:Modifies the deadline for nominating an individual by direct petition or state convention for election from 70 days before the election to 81 days before the election.Modifies the deadline for a nominating petition to be submitted from 64 days before the election to 75 days before the election.Modifies the deadline for selecting a replacement in the case of a vacancy for vacancies occurring 70 days before an election, instead of 56 days before the election.Modifies the deadline for the state committee to select a candidate to fill a vacancy from 54 days before the election to 68 days before the election.Modifies the deadline for the county clerk to prepare official ballots for printing from 50 days prior to the election to 64 days prior to the election.Click the hyperlinked bill number above for more information.

NY A05057: Relates to the dates to file a designating petition; provides for the repeal of such provisions, Assembly Members Stacey Pheffer Amato (D), Alex Bores (D), Edward Braunstein (D), Kenneth Burgos (D), Monique Chandler-Waterman (D), Jeffrey Dinowitz (D), Simcha Eichenstein (D), Edward Gibbs (D), Deborah Glick (D), Jessica Gonzalez-Rojas (D), Rodneyse Bichotte Hermelyn (D), Andrew Hevesi (D), Jonathan Jacobson (D), Anna Kelles (D), Charles Lavine (D), Grace Lee (D), Dana Levenberg (D), Steven Otis (D), Amy Paulin (D), Steven Raga (D), David Rosenthal (D), Nily Rozic (D), Manny De Los Santos (D), Rebecca Seawright (D), Amanda Septimo (D), Gina Sillitti (D), Jo Anne Simon (D), Tony Simone (D), Steve Stern (D), Latrice Walker (D), David Weprin (D), John Zaccaro (D), Karl Brabenec (R), Michael Novakhov (R), and Edward Ra (R).As amended, this bill requires a designating petition be filed no earlier than the 13th Monday before and no later than the 12th Monday before the primary election. A signature made earlier than 41 days before the last day to file designating petitions for the primary election or a signature made later than the 12th Thursday before the primary election will not be counted.

NY S00852: Relates to the accessibility of congressional, senatorial, assembly and election district maps in downloadable digital file formats compatible with geographic information (GIS) software, Sen. James Skoufis (D).Specifies that election district maps on websites must be available in a specific downloadable digital format.

NY S00822: Permits electronic correspondence with regard to determinations on objections to designating petitions, independent nominating petitions, certificates of nomination or ballot access documents upon the consent of the objector, Sen. Rachel May (D).Provides that notice regarding the sufficiency of a petition may be given electronically instead of by overnight mail, with the consent of the objector or candidate.Outlines how a candidate or objector may consent to electronic notice.

NY S00818: Adjusts the effective date of the John R. Lewis Voting Rights Act of New York to July 1, 2023, Sen. Zellnor Myrie (D).Changes the deadline for enactment of the John R. Lewis Voting Rights Act to July 1, 2023.

From July 17-23, legislators passed one bill related to election administration nationally. As of July 23, Texas legislators have passed the most bills this year with 35, while Alaska, Missouri, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin legislators have passed the fewest bills with zero. The state with the most enacted bills is Texas with 33, while seven states have enacted none.

The New York State Legislature was scheduled to be in regular session from Jan. 4 to June 8 this year. In 2022, New York legislators passed 19 election-related bills, 10 in the state Senate and nine in the state House. All 19 bills were enacted into law. New York is a Democratic trifecta, meaning Democrats control the governorship and both chambers of the state legislature.

Additional reading:

New York State LegislatureNew YorkState Politics

Read the Black Chronicle Black History Edition for Free! Click Below

Read the Black Chronicle Black History Edition for Free! Click Below



Share post:


More like this

Ohio reactions mixed to Trump’s selection of Vance

(The Center Square) – Former President Donald Trump's pick...

Disconnected nine years ago, St. Louis seeks proposals for new red-light cameras

(The Center Square) – Approximately nine years after the...

Michigan politicians respond to Trump assassination attempt

(The Center Square) – Michigan politicians from both sides...

Maine GOP pushes for voter ID requirement

(The Center Square) — Supporters of requiring photo identification...