Perry, Others, to be Honored

Russell M. Perry
Robin Roberts
Bob Costas

NEW YORK–The chairman and chief executive officer of Perry Publishing & Broadcasting will be among those honored at the 18th annual Giants in Broadcasting and Electronic Arts Awards Luncheon (a virtual event).

The luncheon–sponsored by the Library of American Broadcasting Foundation and the International Radio & Television Society–will be held from 11 a.m. until 1 p.m. (Central Standard Time) on Tuesday, Nov. 9.

Russell M. Perry, who founded The Black Chronicle in 1979 and bought his first radio station in 1993, will be among the nine to be honored.

Today, Perry Broadcasting is the largest, independently-owned and Black-owned radio broadcasting company in the nation.

The firm now owns radio stations in Oklahoma City, Tulsa and other cities in Oklahoma, as well as in Fayetteville, Ark., and Augusta, Ga.

Also to be honored are:

  • Robin Roberts, co-anchor of ABC’s “Good Morning America,” and president of Rock’n Robin Productions;
  • Emily Barr, president and CEO of the Graham Media Group;
  • Frank Boyle, president of Frank Boyle & Co.;
  • Bob Costas, hall of fame broadcaster of NBC, HBO, MLBN and CNN;
  • Marion Ross, actress best known for her role in “Happy Days;”
  • Neal Shapiro, president and CEO of The WNET Group;
  • U.S. Sen. Gordon H. Smith, president and CEO of the National Association of Broadcasters; and
  • Jordan Wertlieb, senior vice president of the Hearst Corp. and president of Hearst Television.

JuJu Chang, co-anchor of “Nightline” ABC News, will serve as master of ceremonies.

“Previous award recipients have included some of the legendary pioneers, executives, producers, journalists, writers and actors in our business,” a statement said.

Other award recipients include David Barrett, Frank Bennack Jr. and Tom Brokaw.

Additional earlier award recipients are The Carter Family, Marcy Carsey and Tom Werner, Don Cornelius, Ronald Davenport Sr., Dick Ebersol, Barbara Eden, Joe and David Field, Michael Fiorile, Lester Holt, Stanley E. and Stanley S. Hubbard, Catherine Hughes, Bob Johnson and Tom Joyner.

Also, earlier award recipients have been Mel Karmazin, Alfred C. Liggins III, Dave Lougee, Lowry Mays and Family, Andrea Mitchell, Mark Pedowitz and Diane Sawyer.

Earlier award recipients have included Ryan Seacrest, Jeff Smulyan, Perry Sook, Lesley Stahl, Susan Stamberg, Pierre “Pepe” Sutton, Dennis Swanson, Julie Talbott, Ted Turner, Bill Whitaker, Robert Wright and Jeff Zucker.

“The names of our Giants unfold like pages in a media history book that would be missing one of its most important chapters without the opportunity to honor you for your outstanding leadership in our field,” a statement said.

Follow by Email