spot_img

Rideshare increases signed into law in Minnesota

Date:

spot_img

(The Center Square) –Uber or Lyft rides in Minnesota might get more expensive.

Gov. Tim Walz recently signed into law a bill that would require all rideshare drivers to be paid $1.28 per mile, and $0.31 per minute of travel. All drivers must be compensated at minimum $5 per trip.

While the bill is meant to better compensate drivers, a similar plan in Seattle showed troubles for some small businesses. In January, the Seattle City Council voted into effect a $0.74 per mile, $0.44 per minute wage for delivery drivers. This equated to at least $26.40 per hour, higher than the $19.97 city minimum wage.

After just a month, local Indian takeout restaurant SpiceWaala reported a 30% decrease in sales from the same time in 2023. A $9 chicken tikka kathi roll now costs $19 on DoorDash before tip.

Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan expressed no concern, touting at the bill signing that it’s a step toward fair wages.

“Uber and Lyft are vital services that Minnesotans across the state rely on every day,” Flanagan said. “Rideshares get people to doctor’s appointments, work, and school and are a vital stopgap for those who lack other forms of transportation. Those providing these services deserve fair wages and protections.”

Read the Black Chronicle Black History Edition for Free! Click Below

Read the Black Chronicle Black History Edition for Free! Click Below

spot_img
spot_img

Subscribe

Share post:

Popular

More like this
Related

Georgia PSC to hear arguments on railroad request to condemn land

(The Center Square) — The Georgia Public Service Commission...

Illinois lawmaker seeks to criminalize flying American flag upside down

(The Center Square) – A veteran Illinois lawmaker is...

In first five years, 79,000 of DACA recipients admitted to U.S. had arrest records

Within five years of a new program created to...