Republican governors back Abbott’s defense of the border



(The Center Square) — Twenty-five Republican governors said Thursday they back Texas Gov. Greg Abbott’s decision to defend the state’s border with Mexico.

Abbott invoked the invasion clause of the U.S. Constitution on Wednesday and said the federal government broke its compact with the states.

The “Guarantee Clause” of the U.S. Constitution (Article IV, Section 4) “promises that the federal government ‘shall protect each [State] against invasion.” Fifty-one Texas counties have declared an invasion due to the millions of migrants that have illegally crossed the border during Biden’s term.

The governors said they support Abbott.

“Because the Biden administration has abdicated its constitutional compact duties to the states, Texas has every legal justification to protect the sovereignty of our states and our nation,” the governors said.

The Biden administration sued Texas over the placement of wire barriers at the border in Eagle Pass. The U.S. Supreme Court on Monday reversed a decision by a lower court that stopped the federal government from removing the wire.

Abbott has ordered the Texas National Guard to continue building the wire barriers.

“We stand in solidarity with our fellow Governor, Greg Abbott, and the State of Texas in utilizing every tool and strategy, including razor wire fences, to secure the border,” the governors said in a statement. “We do it in part because the Biden Administration is refusing to enforce immigration laws already on the books and is illegally allowing mass parole across America of migrants who entered our country illegally.”

The statement is signed by Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey, Alaska Gov. Mike Dunleavy, Arkansas Gov. Sarah Sanders, Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis, Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp, Idaho Gov. Brad Little, Indiana Gov. Eric Holcomb, Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds, Louisiana Gov. Jeff Landry, Mississippi Gov. Tate Reeves, Missouri Gov. Mike Parson, Montana Gov. Greg Gianforte, Nebraska Gov. Jim Pillen, Nevada Gov. Joe Lombardo, New Hampshire Gov. Chris Sununu, North Dakota Gov. Doug Burgum, Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine, Oklahoma Gov. Kevin Stitt, South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster, South Dakota Gov. Kristi Noem, Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee, Utah Gov. Spencer Cox, Virginia Gov. Glenn Youngkin, West Virginia Gov. Jim Justice and Wyoming Gov. Mark Gordon.

Read the Black Chronicle Black History Edition for Free! Click Below

Read the Black Chronicle Black History Edition for Free! Click Below



Share post:


More like this

Dissolving library districts bill passes Washington Legislature

(The Center Square) – The Washington State Legislature has...

Seven sports gambling operators launch online registration today

(The Center Square) – Bettors can register accounts Friday...

Eligible Michigan residents to receive additional tax credit

(The Center Square) – Michigan plans to send $219...

Judge pauses sentencing in ComEd bribery case ahead of Supreme Court decision

(The Center Square) – A federal judge put the...