spot_img

Tennessee reforms vehicle booting laws

Date:

spot_img

(The Center Square) – A $75 cap on how much a company can charge for removing a boot from a vehicle will go into place July 1.

Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee signed House Bill 1731 into law Tuesday that prohibits booting unless an individual is licensed through a local government. To boot a car in a commercial parking lot, a licensed parking attendant must be present, identifiable as an employee and available to remove the boot within 45 minutes of a driver’s call.

Vehicle owners must be properly notified if their vehicle is being towed, sold or demolished by a towing company and, if the towing process has begun but the vehicle hasn’t left the parking area, the bill requires towing companies to release vehicles to the owner for a fee of no more than $100.

Read the Black Chronicle Black History Edition for Free! Click Below

Read the Black Chronicle Black History Edition for Free! Click Below

spot_img
spot_img

Subscribe

Share post:

Popular

More like this
Related

Reporter isn’t held in contempt over Nashville Covenant shooter’s writings

(The Center Square) – Tennessee Star Editor Michael Patrick...

Revenue Department: Staffing partially to blame for inconsistent assessments

(The Center Square) - Staffing issues are partially to...

Plan for agency on Alzheimer’s Disease support moves forward

(The Center Square) – Reform on Alzheimer’s Disease and...

Governor requests more money for juvenile justice system via veto

(The Center Square) – With less than two weeks...